Ash Tree Guide: What Is It + 15 Common Species of Ash Trees

The ash tree belongs to the olive (Oleaceae) family of woody plants and is classified under the Fraxinus genus. It has between 44 to 66 species of large to medium trees, some of which are subtropical and evergreen.

Is the Ash Tree Endangered?

Unfortunately, the most valuable and common tree in North America is being wiped out by an invasive beetle known as the Emerald Ash Borer beetle.

How Does the Emerald Ash Borer Damage Ash Trees?

Millions of ash trees have been killed by the emerald ash borer, a destructive pest that has affected at least 35 states.

How to Identify an Emerald Ash Borer Infestation on Ash Trees

In order for a pesticide to be effective, it must be drenched yearly in the spring. Treatment works best if it starts before the tree becomes infected.

15 Species of Ash Trees

There are many different types and species of Ash trees in the United States and other countries around the world. Here are the 15 most common ones:

1. Black Ash (Fraxinus nigra)

Black ash is a great material for weaving because of its flexible wood structure. This ash tree can flourish in both chilly and wet locations. This tree attracts wildlife since birds.

Read The Full Article Ash Tree Guide: What Is It + 15 Common Species of Ash Trees

For MoreĀ  Stories Visit